Tom: Date #3

First meeting- Eight months ago

First meeting- Eight months ago

Fun fact: My first date with Tom was eight months (to the day) of our meeting. That sounds like a creepy, stalker-esque thing to remember, but yesterday was also the eight month anniversary of Winter and Lee’s wedding (same friends who hosted the cheese party) and I met Tom at their reception. We have a lot of friends in common, and I’d seen him at a few gatherings since then, but we’ve never done anything with just the two of us.

Tom picked me up and took me to Sugarhouse Barbeque, which proclaims itself to be the best in Utah. I’m no barbeque expert, but it was pretty dang good. Our waiter, Cully, was a character who’s a closet harmonica player and lover of the blues. Tom and I sat on the patio, since the night was a perfect temperature, and spent a lot of time just eating good barbeque and talking.

Tom, Me, and Howlin' Wolf Cully

Tom, Me, and Howlin’ Wolf Cully

I was impressed with Tom’s humility, especially since he has a lot to boast about. He’s working on his PhD in Bio-Engineering at the University of Utah and really wants to make his life a useful one. He spends a lot of his time helping other people, which I admire. He’s a deep thinker and very spiritual, so our talk dipped below surface topics quickly.

A little after dusk, we drove over to Sugarhouse park and tossed a frisbee around for a while. Tom found some cash on the ground, but left it where it was. Little things like that impressed me about his integrity. We finished the evening by going on a walk around the park together. Tom was a good listener and also a good conversationalist and it was a great way to get to know each other better in a relaxed environment.

Tom had a stint as a frisbee model. He knows how to work it.

Tom had a stint as a frisbee model. He knows how to work it.

There was something in Tom that reminded me of how I used to be when I first returned from my mission in England… such a strong desire to be good and make a difference with my life. I think that can fade over time with a lot of people, but I respect that it seems to have stayed strong with him.

All in all, the evening helped me get to know a great guy a little better. A fine way to spend a Tuesday night.

2 thoughts on “Tom: Date #3

  1. fryelock says:

    Carrie this is such a cool idea and I’m loving reading about your dating escapades! in a way, this 30 dates before your 30th birthday deal kind of forces you into doing exactly what you SHOULD do on dates– try something (someone) new on for size, and find out what you like and what you don’t like without any pressure. dating can be SUCH torture and I’m loving how empowering this is for you as a woman– it’s so feminist! and also, i think there is magic in the number 30. A few years back i went gung ho on the dating scene and dated what seemed like a million guys once or twice– well, it wasn’t a million, but it was 30, and the 30th one, is now my loving amazing husband Jason 🙂 all the best to you!!

  2. Sassy-frass says:

    Scottie!! I just found this blog and I’m eating it up. I love reading your writing. I can hear your voice and you make me want to laugh out loud with you. You are one of the only people I know who could pull this off because you are SO good at looking at the positive. You’re going to make every guy (and date) sound amazing because that’s just who you are. I’m excited to follow you on this very fun project! Have a great time!

Leave a Reply

