Danny – Date #10

This robot started playing country music when he saw our cowboy hats. We totally danced with him.

This robot started playing country music when he saw our cowboy hats. We totally danced with him.

I was trying to think of the best way to blog about this date with Danny and really do him justice. For those of you who don’t know him, this guy is awesome. And it’s hard to accurately represent the awesomeness of an awesome person. I was talking about my blogging dilemma with my former roommates and and Melanie said, “Start out by saying ‘Danny is the kind of guy that throws a pirate party every year.’  That will give him some street cred.”

Regardless of whether or not he needs the street cred, I will start out with that. Danny is a really fun and creative guy. When he asked me to the state fair and included the provision that we needed to go in cowboy hats and big belt buckles, I knew I was in for a really fun time.

We laughed and caught up all the way to the fair. When we arrived, there were so many things going on. I had never been to a state fair before and just thought there would be prize pigs, vegetables, and little Future Farmers of America walking around. But this place was amazing! It reminded me of being at the beach, minus the sand and the ocean. There were vendors with fair food, carnival games, rides, and attractions. There were art exhibits and live music and creepy old clowns making balloon animals. There were shows with animals like alligators, bears, and sharks. Everywhere you looked, there was something interesting to see.


Danny standing by The World's Smallest Woman Alive exhibit... we saw people go back and talk with her. I guess the sign was right: You talk to HER and she TALKS to you!

Danny standing by The World’s Smallest Woman Alive exhibit… we saw people go back and interact with her. I guess the sign was right: You talk to HER and she TALKS to you!

I’m sure the two of us, in our cowboy hats, were also interesting to see. I love that Danny has such a playful side. We laughed a lot together that day. Besides being funny, Danny is smart, genuine, and good. When I was trying to figure out how to describe him, my other former roommate, Winter, said I should make him out to be the bad boy of my blog. I asked, “Are we talking about the same Danny?” I was the one on the date figuring out how we could fake injuries to score wheelchairs so we could cruise around the fair. Danny was the one saying that he didn’t feel good about faking an injury, but I could kick his leg really hard so that it was legit. However, we did form a conspiracy to hijack one of the golf carts, so he’s got some mischief in him.

We spent the afternoon going to different exhibits, eating sausages on a stick, listening to a bluegrass band (who probably thought we were totally into their music based on our cowboy hats alone), looking at the prize-winning arts and crafts (including a giant sculpture made entirely out of butter), walking by the Jordan River, and just taking in the fair in general.


Handsome shot of Danny with his sausage on a stick.

Handsome shot of Danny with his sausage on a stick.

Another sausage on a stick shot. Just as flattering.

Another sausage on a stick shot. Just as flattering.

I had a great time with Danny. We share the same circle of friends, so we’ve spent time together, but it was nice to go on a date with him. I’m glad that my first state fair experience could be with this pirate-party throwing, cowboy hat wearing, great man.

6 thoughts on “Danny – Date #10

  1. Sara Johnson says:

    What beaches have you been going to? I think that I’ve been missing out on something!

    What a fun date!! It seems like you guys had a fantastic time!

  2. Thanks for being willing to be seen in public with me, that was fun! I only have one regret, those corn dogs weren’t nearly big enough… oh well. Seriously though, holy smokes, what a nice post, what kind words. You’re awesome, thanks for letting me take you to the fair!
    (Yee ha!)

  3. Daniela says:

    Oh Danny Boy! I vote for a second date with him! You should bake cookies and decorate them together….. he’s good at that. lol. this is so awesome!

Leave a Reply

