Vaughn – Date #13

We were going to pose like American Gothic, but the restaurant was fresh out of pitch forks.

We were going to pose like American Gothic, but the restaurant was fresh out of pitch forks.

I was really looking forward to going out with Vaughn. My friend, Margaret, introduced us through facebook initially, and I was surprised by how many friends we had in common. In fact, we have so many common interests and experiences that I’m pretty surprised that we’ve gone this long without knowing each other.

Vaughn and I met for lunch at Sweet Tomatoes, a buffet-style soup and salad place. He stepped away from his job working in the audio/visual department of the LDS church in Salt Lake and drove to meet me closer to my work in Murray.

Right from the beginning of the date, I had so much I wanted to ask him. He majored in film and minored in music at BYU. He sings and composes music and plays three instruments. He does sound engineering. He served his mission in England. He knows a ton of my friends. All things that were so easy for me to relate with. It was comfortable and lots of fun talking with him.

The more I talked with Vaughn, the more I realized that he was a person of immense creativity and passion. He had so many ideas and dreams that he’s put a lot of thought and effort into. He had already published a card game through a book company called Deseret Book, and had another one ready to test with target audiences that he plans to self-publish. He had come up with an elaborate and interesting idea for a television pilot and had planned out the details of each character’s back story, etc. He lit up as he let his mind run with the possibilities. He breathed creativity as he would air.

The time passed quickly before we both had to go back to work, but I was glad to meet someone I probably should have crossed paths with years ago. Who knows? Maybe we did.

Thirteen is supposed to be an unlucky number. But I felt pretty lucky that Vaughn filled that place in this adventure.

Closer shot, serious faces. Just for some variety.

The tomato to head ratio is a little disturbing. Genetically modified? Hmmm…

3 thoughts on “Vaughn – Date #13

  1. Sara Johnson says:

    Sounds like you’re going to need a second date just to continue the scintillating conversation! How fun to find someone with so many common friends and interests.

Leave a Reply

