David – Date #18 (The Birthday Date!)

Gotta love that David.

Gotta love that David.

Date #18 was awesome for several reasons. Reason #1: It was a double date with one of my favorite couples in all of coupledom, Winter and Lee. Reason #2: THEY set up my date, so it was a surprise. Reason #3: The surprise turned out to me one of the sweetest guys ever, my friend David. To keep with the theme, I could go on to list eighteen reasons for my eighteenth date’s awesomeness, but suffice it to say, this had all the markings of a fantastic time.

Winter and Lee rang my doorbell to pick me up and after we talked for a bit, they put a blindfold on me and led me outside (David’s idea). Lee was holding my hand to guide me when I felt another masculine hand take my free one and I sensed a very tall person by my side. This was the first time I started to suspect it might have been David… and I was stoked.

They helped me into David’s SUV and once we were all inside, Lee tried a few times to get the blindfold off. When yanking from behind proved unsuccessful, I took it off myself. 🙂 I started clapping when my suspicions about my date’s identity were confirmed. David is an awesome guy. He has a large stature (he even played football for the University of Utah!) but he is a teddy bear. He has an easy laugh and is so kind to everyone.

David drove us to the Market Street Grill for dinner and all four of us had fun joking and telling stories on the way there. David told us about the research he’s been doing for school and discoveries they’ve made. They were amazing! From ways to make skin glow in the dark, to prosthetic limbs you can control with the mind, to advances in overcoming blindness, it was exciting to hear about the developments.

mmmm.... Market Street Grill!

Mmmm…. Market Street Grill!

And for those who have never been, Market Street Grill is amazing. It’s a pretty penny per plate (oh, how I love alliteration!), but the food is so worth it. We talked more through dinner about some other things David is involved with- teaching workshops for elementary school students in the district, audio and video editing, and more. And it was so much fun to hang out with Winter and Lee. They kept me laughing all night and I just kept thinking about how lucky I am to have them in my life. (Did I mention that I love those two?)

Throughout the week, I had sensed they might have been planning some sort of surprise afterward for my birthday. That morning, however, I was kidnapped by my roommates for breakfast with a bunch of friends. So, I laid aside the suspicions, figuring that what I’d sensed was tied to that surprise. That is, until the waiter asked us if we wanted dessert and Lee said, “No thanks. We have a birthday party to get to!” And it didn’t even register on his face that he’d divulged their plot.

Winter did a good job of not registering emotion, either. So, I was a little confused. Ninety-three percent of me was feeling justified in suspicion. And seven percent of me was thinking, “They have done SO much for you already. There’s no way they’ve gone to all of the trouble to throw a surprise party on TOP of all of this.” I was tempted to chalk it up to a post-dinner hang out, especially when Winter suggested we rent a movie.

But sure enough, when I walked through my front door, there were tons of my friends in my newly streamer-strewn living room. It was kind of the perfect ending to a fabulous day.

I love my friends!

I love my friends!

David stayed all through the party, and even helped break open the pinata my roommate, Sharon, had provided. Afterward most of the guests had gone and things were winding down, he even gave me one of the back scratches he is famous for.

All in all, it was one of the best birthdays I can remember thanks to the love and attention of my friends and family. And having David as my date for the evening was the icing on the cake, so to speak. He was very generous and lots of fun to be around. With a start like this, I can tell that thirty is going to be a great year.

Leave a Reply

