Bob – Date #19

I want to shake the hand of the man who came up with the idea of all-you-can-eat sushi.

I want to shake the hand of the man who came up with the idea of all-you-can-eat sushi. Truly.

Let’s be honest. There are lots of creative angles to approach blogging about a date with someone named Bob. You could reference Bill Murray’s character in “What About Bob?” and talk about baby steps in dating. You could make the blog a palindrome, but that’s getting a little carried away. To make it simple, I’ll go with just saying that I think the name Bob is awesome and so was the guy who bore the name.

Our mutual friend, Julia, gave Bob my phone number and from the first time he called me, I thought this was a fun guy. When he told me about our plans for the date, my suspicions were confirmed. It sounded like a blast.

Our chariot for the evening...

Our chariot for the evening…

When I got to his place in Provo, he asked me how adventurous I was on a scale of 1-10. I found out that he wanted to take me out on his motorcycle, and I was all for it. (Don’t worry, Mom. I wore a helmet.) He drove me to an all-you-can-eat sushi place, and I was surprised because I thought those only existed in heaven. Bob introduced me to some great new sushi combinations (I even tried salmon salmon skin and octopus for the first time!) and he helped me with my chopsticks technique.

As we talked, I found out that Bob has a lot of well-rounded interests. He’s played football, he sings and has good taste in music, he’s traveled, he likes the outdoors, and more. We were having so much fun talking and eating sushi that we almost lost track of the hour.

On second thought, maybe we shouldn't get too close to that plant...

On second thought, maybe we shouldn’t get too close to that plant…

Luckily, Bob discovered just in time that we needed to head out to our next destination: The Hale Center Theater in Orem. He had purchased tickets to “Little Shop of Horrors”, an upbeat dark musical comedy that’s perfect for Halloween time. The show was fantastic and the performers were well cast.  The Hale Center Theater does shows in the round, so it was fun to be close to all of the action.

Bob was a really attentive and considerate date throughout the evening and I really enjoyed getting to know him. Before I knew it, the time had come for me to head back to Salt Lake. I was still full of sushi and had songs from the musical on constant replay in my mind. All of that, topped with some great company, added up to a really fantastic night.

Bob with the cast of the show

Bob with the cast of the show

One thought on “Bob – Date #19

  1. Sara Johnson says:

    What a fun date! I don’t know how you can beat all you can eat sushi (who knew that existed??) and a musical – sounds pretty great to me!

Leave a Reply

