Project Update

For the last two months, I’ve remained at seven more dates to my goal. As much as I’ve wanted to reach the magic number, it’s probably been good that things have been stagnant for a while. This experience has been great so far, but I’ve felt that something else needs to happen before I move forward.

The saying is, When the student is ready, the teacher will appear. I’m feeling like I need to focus on the student for a little while, rather than just waiting around idly for the last seven people to come into my life.

This is really just a long way of saying that I’m still committed to finishing, but I’m going to take a detour with the project for a little while. If and when the remaining dates happen, I’ll write about them. But until then, there are some more adventures to be had.

Here’s my plan. In keeping with the “Flirty and Thirty” theme, I’m committing to thirty weeks of flirting with life. Each week, I plan to create a life-enriching experience and then blog about it. Some of the things I have brainstormed so far include the following:

Challenge a fear

Learn a practical skill

Travel / Have a new adventure

Have a new cultural experience

Better myself physically

Do an act of service

Create something new

Connect with God and spirituality

Let go of a limiting belief

Fill up with music

Experience nature

Connect more with family

Recognize the honor in someone

Work on / Cross off something on my bucket list

Make a memory with a stranger

Explore a new hobby

Create magic from the mundane

Make one improvement in my living environment

Risk rejection

Take a step toward financial freedom

Practice the art of letting go

Become more self-reliant

Teach someone something

Support a good cause

Do something self-indulgent

Do something that makes me feel like a kid again

Reconnect with an old friend

Get involved civically

Visit someone who is lonely

This is just a beginning… there aren’t thirty ideas here yet, so I’d love suggestions and more help in brainstorming. I plan to give it some more thought, also. But with this being the first full week of the new year, I think it’s a good time to start.

On to the next adventure.

11 thoughts on “Project Update

  1. Carrie, I love this! I may steal your list and post it on my blog (I’ll send folks over here if I do). Good luck- these are all worthy things. It reminds me of another project I heard about called ‘a year to live’ where it is to live life fully as if this is your last year. In any case, very inspiring so I guess I should get out of my pjs and go do SOMETHING (you used to know me as Emily Sellers. Bet you didnt’ know sometimes I read your blog,huh?)

    • scottiethehottie says:

      Emily! Great to hear from you! Of course you can post it. Maybe some of your friends will have good ideas to add to the list.

  2. Jenny says:

    Wow–this is the best list of aspirations I’ve read in a long time. I might need to copy this and adhere to it verbatim. I love it!

  3. Jessi says:

    Yay, Carrie!! Great plan, great list. I wanna do something similar, you’ve inspired me. I was trying to think of something to add to your list but it seems like you’ve covered all bases! 🙂 I’ll be thinking and let you know of any ideas. Love ya!

    • scottiethehottie says:

      Jessi and Jenny, I’d love to hear about your experience if you end up doing it! Two more ideas tonight after talking with my sister, Lorraine:

      -Create a “Hope Chest” of things that lift up my spirits and inspire hope.

      -Simplify. Throw out things that aren’t useful or beautiful.

      Still looking for more ideas!

  4. Sares says:

    Cares,

    You are, as always, a fantastic and inspirational woman. Focus on YOU, indeed! I REALLY look forward to reading these posts.

    I’m not sure that I have any brilliant brainstorms just yet, but I can suggest two fantastic reads that changed my life when I was looking to better “the student”:
    My Stroke of Insight by Jill Bolte Taylor, PhD
    A Year to Live by Stephen Levine (Emily, this may be what the project you referred to was based on?)

    Both of these tend to challenge the habits in our lives and make us look at things anew, let go of some of the baggage and preconceptions. It’s quite freeing and liberating!

    Love,
    Sares

  5. Sarah Washburn says:

    Carrie, do you have any idea what a remarkable person you are? I love you so much and I’m so proud of you. Flirting with life is the perfect way to enjoy it. The guy who finally gets you is going to be luckier than he knows.

Leave a Reply

