Nathan – Date #24

In front of Fashion Place mall

My date with Nathan actually happened the same day I posted the update last week, but my computer crashed, so I’m behind in blogging. (I’m also behind on blogging about week one of my flirting with life project for the same reason…)

Nathan and I have known each other for a few years, but he is attending law and MBA school in New York, so we don’t see each other often. When I posted the last update, he was still in town for Christmas break and saw I was still doing my project, so he called to ask me out.

When I picked him up (he flew from NY and didn’t have a car available), Nathan told me his vision for the evening. He had a pouch with him containing slips of paper with all sorts of phrases, words, quotes, etc. that he’d written down earlier. He suggested driving to a local mall and asking random strangers to choose a sip from the pouch. They would then say the first thing that came to their heads while he recorded their responses. This didn’t surprise me. Nathan is very creative and seems pretty uninhibited, which is something I admire. I was a little less brave, but it was good to get out of my comfort zone.

We met a lot of interesting people– most were good sports, some were enthusiastic, and some were a little crabby. We met a modeling and talent scout who agreed to be on camera if we gave him our contact information for his talent agency. (They called me later to see if I wanted an audition, and I told them I had so much work in the industry… I couldn’t possibly find time for more…) We got a salesman to talk , but then he had to give me his sales pitch about his electrical stimulation massager … which he attached to my back and sent pulses into me that made my muscles jerk involuntarily. He kept trying to sell it to us and Nathan finally said that he would buy it when I agreed to be his girlfriend.

Nathan’s favorite people of the evening seemed to be the ones that worked in Hot Topic. I don’t know why, but people who work in that store always seem to be non-judgmental and nice. A little quirky, but nice. When Nathan explained what we were doing to the girl behind the counter, she started clapping her hands and saying, “I want to play! I want to play!” And she was being sincere. It was good to finish the evening with a positive person.

On the way back, Nathan and I listed to some Frank Sinatra and caught up. He told me about life in New York, and I don’t know how he finds the time to do things like play piano for a theater company in between all the work he has to do for two masters degrees. He’s a super talented and intelligent guy, though, and very capable.

Nathan took the footage from our mall excursion and edited it together. You can check it out here:

When I get my computer back, if I haven’t lost the pictures from the evening, I’ll post one also.

I appreciated Nathan wanting to use his last day in town to help me with my project. He’s such a nice guy and I appreciated that he was willing to go out on a limb and be creative with me. It’s a date I’m sure I’ll remember for a long time to come.

2 thoughts on “Nathan – Date #24

  1. ♫ Keep rocking it, Carrie! I love hearing about your adventures. The project updates sounds wonderful, too. I think we all need to try it! Hugs– Mags ♫

Leave a Reply

