Week Thirteen – Create Something New

My sister, Lorraine. She’s gonna be famous someday.

There are things in my life that make me feel completely in the moment… where everything else melts away. Like music. Performing it, writing it, listening to it… all of the above. I haven’t written in a long time, so this week, I decided to give it a shot again.

I first played around in Garage Band with some of the Apple Loops software. The program is awesome, because it gives you a lot of different instrument samples to choose from. It’s like putting together a quilt of sounds. The drawback is that you can’t change the chords in the song, so it’s all on one note. But, I played around and came up with this:

http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=carriesauce#p/u/u-all/0/CkIFapJgJYk

I’ll admit, it’s a little girl-powery, but it was cathartic. So I’m okay with that.

I also wanted to start writing some music for the soul band I’m a part of (www.thesoulistics.net). For this, I drove to my sister Lorraine’s house in Pleasant View, Utah, about an hour north of my home.

Lorraine is an amazingly gifted singer-songwriter and was the one who inspired me to start writing music when I was a little girl. I remember sitting on her bed, watching her play the piano with her old tape recorder on top and pencil and paper on its ledge. I wanted to do that, too.

She and her awesome husband, David, are the ones that helped me set up my own home studio. She was also a sounding board as I worked through originals for the album I released a few years ago (You can hear those songs at http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/carriescott, or on iTunes, Rhapsody, eMusic, blah blah blah…).

Anyway, Lorraine let me have free reign of her studio and software and I sat up there for a few hours, coming up with concepts. My adorable four year-old niece, Grace, was my little shadow and stayed with me the whole time. I loved hearing her chatter on about being a pink and white butterfly, how she could turn off the sun and moon,  and being let into her world of make-believe in general.

David. The Man. The Myth. The Legend.

After Lorraine’s delicious dinner, David, who is a pro at sound engineering, came up to help me tweak some things and load what I’d done to my own computer. I took it home, and added a few more things in Garage Band, and came up with this:

http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=carriesauce#p/a/u/0/6o-gJgxvuY4

It’s super simple, just a funky twelve bar blues with a chorus, but I think it has potential. I have lots of thoughts for lyrics, but didn’t have a chance to get those recorded yet. As soon as I record them, I’ll update it.

I haven’t written anything since releasing my album, so it just felt good to let the madman run free for a while. These are not finished products yet, by any means. The poet and the editor still have to have their say. But creating fills a place that nothing else can fill in my life. I hope there’s lots more where this has come from.

3 thoughts on “Week Thirteen – Create Something New

  1. Lorraine says:

    Love it, Sis!

    You’re the one who inspires me! The music is great and the blog makes me want to go do something adventurous… like writing a blog. Come on up and let’s make some music! Or turn on the sun with our butterfly powers…

    Big L
    What do you mean famous “someday”? I’ve been featured on Carrie Scott’s blog. : )

Leave a Reply

